Our local Nissan dealership has had a broken Rapid Charger for our entire ownership, recently they have had a replacement which works:

IMG_20160109_121856.jpgThis is great news as it allows us to charge quickly for free! Also, if we have an unplanned journey to make, we can swing in and get a quick charge before setting off.

 

On the other car, the bike rack is starting to show it’s age. Being at the back of the car, I can imagine that it takes a fair amount of abuse from salt, stones, and anything else the car can throw behind it. Some time was spend rubbing it down and giving it a new paint job:

IMG_20160116_115520You can see how rusted and tired it was looking, so a quick trip to a DIY store to buy some wire brush attachments for my cordless drill and some paint to get the job done:

IMG_20160116_115843Taking the tow ball and rack mount off were no trouble at all:

IMG_20160116_121450
I have to lay the nuts and bolts out in order so I don’t forget where they went

The mounting plate was given a good brush before reassembly. The drill did a fantastic job of rubbing away all of the rust from the bracket, it was certainly a lot easier than doing it by hand:

IMG_20160116_150009

I hung it up so I could prime it with some metal primer. It is supposed to help prevent rust, as is the final paint. We will see how well that does in the future. I will be happy if it lasts a couple of years – if not, it can get powder coated…

IMG_20160116_162855

…although I should have realised that hanging it up against a fence panel was a bad idea, as it would rub the paint off! Above you can see it hanging from the garage door, where it won’t rub against anything. A small piece of the bracket was missed doing it this way, but that was easily touched up after the bracket had been mounted.

IMG_20160116_163144

Some copper grease when reassembling to make sure that it is just as easy to remove next time.

IMG_20160116_163550

And the final product. I tilted the 12N (black) and the 12S (grey) connections for towing upwards to make them easier to plug in and out.

I don’t think water will get trapped inside – I will check regularly to make sure that it isn’t happening. I don’t use covers for them, as they fall off and hold water inside. I spray the contacts regularly with a water repellent.

The side-by-side comparison. I think it looks a lot better – even if the latter picture was taken in the dark! Next time I might go for a satin finish rather than a gloss – although I’m sure it won’t stay shiny for long!

